Skip to content
December 27, 2010 / Rebecca Foss

Snow Day

Thinking back to when I was a kid, growing up in Chicago, I remember winter mornings glued to the television set in hopes that a closing announcement would be made for my school.  Back then, there was no need to worry about scheduled meetings, conference calls, or deadlines.  A snow day was simply a snow day.

A snow day is best used by adorning yourself in a heavy coat, a winter hat, mittens, a long scarf and sturdy boots.  Once appropriately attired, embarking upon the winter snow presents many options.  Building a snowman is definitely an all-time favorite for many.  A hill and a sled go nicely together on a white canvas.  Or perhaps you prefer a good, old-fashioned snowball fight?  Whatever your choice may be, warming up with a cup of hot cocoa, specially prepared by Mom, of course, is a nice way to finish the outdoor snow adventure.

I’ll admit it.  I went to sleep last night hoping that maybe, just maybe, the snow would hit overnight in the DC area so I could have an excuse to stay home one more day, thus extending my already long weekend.  And while most everyone here is rejoicing that we escaped the storm (so far), I am still a little let down that my snow day did not come through.   There is nothing like a beautiful snow blanket covering the ground before the footprints and tire tracks hit.  It’s been quite some time since I went sledding or built a snow man.  But anytime a new snow falls, I like to take a moment to breathe in the clean crisp air, look around at the flakes falling, and smile at something that can only be described as somewhat magical.

So, who’s with me on making a snow angel?

Leave a Reply

INTO MIND

personal style, minimalism & the perfect wardrobe

Words I Stole from Other Countries

The Official Website of Author Sean M. Chandler

Spunknanigan

This is my therapy. Out with the bad, in with the good.

Eric T. Tung

Social Media Coach, Consultant & Speaker

thepassionofthechristoph

Just another WordPress.com site

Social Media Workbench

Social Media Marketing + Retro Media Fun

wordsfromanneli

Thoughts, ideas, photos, and stories.

Business & Money

The latest news and commentary on the economy, the markets, and business

lick the fridge

inane (and sometimes insane) musings of a twin dad

RoseReads

Writer and Lover of Words

Olivia Ricci

my life, photography and work

